ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Everything You Need To Know

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 2015 Cricket World Cup is the eleventh World Cup of Cricket history which is going to be organized by Australia & New Zealand. The tournament begins from 14th February to 29th March 2015. Total of 14 national cricket teams are participating in this competition. Teams are divided in 2 pools which are Pool A & Pool B. Knock out round will begin from 18th March. Final match is scheduled to be played on 29th March at Melbourne Cricket Ground which is located in Melbourne. Here is the complete wiki of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

2015 ICC Cricket World Cup Wiki

Start Date & Format
Teams, Date & Groups
Broadcasting Rights
ICC Cricket World Cup Start Date & Format

Host nation will start the competition with first match against the defending champions of T20 World Cup Sri Lanka on 14th February. It will be played on Hagley Oval which is located in Christchurch. Last match of group stage is scheduled to be played on 15th of March 2015 at Adelaide Oval.

As like World Cup of 2011, this tournament consists of 14 teams in which ICC has given opportunity to affiliate member nations. These 14 teams are categorized in Pool A & Pool B. Each pool is consists of 7 national cricket teams. From each pool, top 4 teams will qualify for the next round which is quarter final round.

After completion of ICC 2011 World Cup, it was decided that only 10 full members of ICC will play the next tournament which faced a lot o criticism. Affiliate member Ireland protest against this & later it was announced that Ireland along with remaining 3 teams may play in cricket's biggest competition. Each team in group stage will play 6 matches which means 42 matches will be played in first round.
Qualification of Affiliate Members

Netherlands, Ireland became the first country to book ticket of World Cup 2015 finals. Later on 4 October 2013, Afghanistan qualified for the finals for the first time in cricket history. Scotland made victory over United Arab Emirates in final of qualifier & both qualified as the last 2 spots.

Teams qualified through qualifiers: Ireland, Afghanistan, Scotland & United Arab Emirates.
Teams, Dates and Groups

10 national cricket qualified directly into this tournament which are New Zealand, Australia, England, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, South Africa & West Indies. Whereas, 4 affiliate member nations which are Ireland, Scotland, Afghanistan & United Arab Emirates.

From fourteenth February, group stage games will begin between hot nation New Zealand & Sri Lanka. In first stage of this competition, total of 42 matches will be played. Check out the match dates in detail below.

Group Stage: From 14th Feb to 15th March
Quarter finals: 18 March to 21 March
Semi Final: 24 March & 26 March
Final: 29th March 2015.

Pool A: England, Australia, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Bangladesh, Afghanistan & Scotland
Pool B: South Africa, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland, United Arab Emirates.

Dates & venues of quarter final round are also annoucned by the governing body of Cricket. First match of Quarter final will be played on eighteen March, whereas last match is scheduled to be played on 21st March. Semi finals will be played on 24th & 26th march 2015 at Eden park, Auckland & Sydney Cricket ground respectively.

Last match of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will be played on 29 March between winner of semi final 1 & winner of semi final 2. Melbourne cricket ground is selected to host final match 2015 cricket world cup. Total of 49 games will be played on this whole competition in 44 days.
2015 Cricket World Cup Venues

On 30 July 2013, it was decided that Australia would host 26 matches & New Zealand would host 23 games in this competition. Both Melbourne & Sydney were the favorites to host final match, but on same day, it was decided that Melbourne will host final match of 2015 World Cup. Given below is the list of host stadiums with audience capacity.
Location Stadium Capacity
Sydney, NSW Sydney Cricket Ground 48,000
Melbourne, VIC Melbourne cricket ground 100,024
Adelaide, SA Adelaide Oval 53,500
Brisbane, QLD Brisbane cricket ground 42,000
Perth, WA WACA ground 24,500
Hobart, TAS Bellerive Oval 20,000
Canberra, ACT Manuka Oval 13,550
Auckland Eden Park 46,000
Christchurch Hagley Oval 20,000
Dunedin University Oval 6,000
Nelson Saxton Oval 5,000
Wellington Wellington Regional stadium 33,000
Hamilton Seddon Park 12,000
ICC Cricket World Cup logo

The logo of 2015 cricket world cup is revealed. The logo of this tournament is featured with blue, red, orange & green curly stripes. These stripes on combination makes a batsman hitting a leg stroke. After its launch, the poster got great response from cricket all over the world. For full details with the official logo of this world cup below.

Official logo of 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup
ICC World Cup 2015 Broadcasting Rights

Governing body of cricket International Cricket Council has sold media rights of this competition for 2 billion US dollars to ESPN Star Sports and Star Cricket. This means these 2 channels are the official media partner of upcoming cricket world cup.

In host nation Australia, Nine Network will provide live telecast of this Campaign. Star sports & DD Network will provide live coverage of this tournament in India. TV telecast channels of this competition in other nations are PTV sports & Sky Sports. Given below is the of TV telecast channels in different countries.
Country Telecast channels
India Star Sports, DD National
Australia Nine Network, Fox Sports
New Zealand Sky Sports
United Kingdom Sky Sports
Ireland Sky Sports
Pakistan PTV Sports

By: Uday Kumar Sharma

Source: 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup
Home page: Cricketcosmic

Article Directory: https://www.articledirectoryusa.com

Source: http://www.articledirectoryusa.com/article/category/recreation-and-sports/diving/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015-everything-you-need-to-know/

Article Tags: ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 , ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 wiki , start date of ICC Cricket World Cup

Submitted On Aug 12, 2014. Viewed 409 times.

blog comments powered by Disqus